home page Contact Us


About Rotary

What Is Rotary
In the News
RI Latest News
Becoming a Member

Club Information

Presidents Message
Officers & Directors
Club Members
Meeting Information
N.L. Rotary Songs
Club History


Calendar of Events
Annual Picnic
Brewfest at the Beach

Community Awards

Awards Overview
Harry Birenbaum Award
Service Person Award
Native Son/Daughter
Unsung Hero Award
Community Service
Outstanding Student
Teacher of the Year
Rotary Scholars
Robert Groebel Award

Five Avenues of Service


Our Service Projects

Community Projects
International Projects

NL Rotary Foundation

NLRF Overview
Grant Guidelines

Club Bulletin

Rotary Anchor Current
Rotary Anchor Archive




New London Rotaract
Contact Us
Useful Links
Site Map


For members...

Administration Login
Community Awards Overview - New London Schools Outstanding Student Award
click to print this pageprint this page

New London Schools Outstanding Student Award


Established to honor an outstanding student in each of the fifteen public and private schools (and adult education) within the City of New London. A student will be selected monthly within the school year.


Criteria: Awarded to students who, in the opinion of teachers and principals from the respective schools, and in conjunction with the Student Awards committee have exemplified the Rotary ideals of service to their school and the development of acquaintance as a means of service.


Award: A luncheon in that student's honor will be held at a regular club meeting. Certain family members are invited to attend as guests of the club. Additionally, a certificate is given to both, the student and the respective school.


Students of the Year  2012/13


 Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School


 The Williams School

Lean Pieniadz


 New London High School


 Nathan Hale School

Zakiya Fletcher


Winthrop School    

 Solomon Schechter Academy



New London Adult Education



Jennings Elementary School



 Harbor School


The Science & Technology Magnet High School



ISAAC  School



St. Joseph's School    

Multicultural Magnet School





Joela DePass, NLHS?

Jorlennys Rosario, C.B. Jennings Elementary School

Syeda Fatima Raza, Nathan Hale Elementary School

Sofonie Dulcice, New London Adult Education

Zoe Connor, Winthrop Elementary School

Krishveer Grewal, RMMS

Beatrice Mills, Williams School

Delaney McPhail, Science & Technology High School

Jamesha Singleton-Weathers, BDJMS STEM Magnet 

Myranda Torres Ramos, Early Childhood Center

Francesca Ledoux, BDJMS

Victoria Hannaford, St. Joseph's School

Jessica Schafer, ISAAC